FALL 2016 W. CRANE GUY MEMORIAL VOCAL SCHOLARSHIP WINNER: Michael Woodard

Michael Woodard with Vocal Program Chair Debra Byrd

Michael Woodard with Vocal Program Chair Debra Byrd

The Vocal Program at Musicians Institute is pleased to announce Michael Woodard as the winner of the W. Crane Guy Memorial Vocal Scholarship for fall 2016.  In winning this prestigious award, the Philadelphia native demonstrated overall outstanding musicianship, strong vocal skills and the potential for developing his own unique voice.  He describes his musical interest as being in the “Pop, Gospel, and R&B genres.”

Asked why he chose to study in the Vocal Program at MI,  Michael states “while studying at MI I know I will learn how to be the best singer, performer, and all around artist I can be. Very seldom you will find a school that can teach you and mold you into a pro in your desired profession. For me, Musicians Institute is that school. I know I will learn every crucial thing I need to know in order to be successful in my career”.

Regarding his future aspirations, he adds “my dreams are normally viewed as big but I know that there is no dream too big or too small.  I want to be huge, and very successful in the music industry with my singing.  I want my music to heal nations one day, and a legacy that says “Michael J. Woodard’s music, influence, and voice left no soul untouched.”

Everyone at MI congratulates Michael on winning this prestigious award that honors the memory and multiple talents of Musicians Institute alumnus W. Crane Guy (class of 2010); and supports the education of a talented vocal student.

Special heartfelt thanks to the family of W. Crane Guy for generously sponsoring this scholarship, which will help to provide students like Michael with the support, tools and recognition they need to launch successful and creative careers in the music industry.

W. Crane Guy

W. Crane Guy

One comment

Leave a Reply

