FALL 2014 HOSA TECHNOLOGY AUDIO ENGINEERING SCHOLARSHIP WINNER: Danica Renee Garcia

Jonathan Newkirk (Audio Enginnering Program Chair) with Danica Garcia

Jonathan Newkirk (Audio Enginnering Program Chair) with Danica Garcia

The Audio Engineering Program at Musicians Institute is pleased to announce Danica Renee Garcia as the winner of the second annual Hosa Technology Audio Engineering Scholarship at MI.  In winning this prestigious award, the Santa Paula, CA native convincingly and clearly articulated her career goals in the music industry in her scholarship essay submission.

Asked why she chose to study in the Audio Engineering Program at MI,  Danica states “My education has always been extremely important to me. Knowing that MI has a 12:1 student to teacher ratio is one of the main points that sold me on MI.  The teaching staff is incredible and the quality of education is phenomenal.  They set you up for nothing but success and all you have to supply is the effort and drive. And that, is what makes MI one of the most unique schools in my eyes; it’s why I invested my future here.  I absolutely adore the vibe around campus, the networking and connection opportunities, and the fact that everyone there is also chasing their biggest dream with no boundaries, the possibilities are limitless.”

While at MI, she will focus on “absorbing as much as I can, I want to learn it all. I want to become knowledgeable, not just educated. I want to become certified in Pro-Tools and know how to track, record, and mix songs and eventually demos and albums. I want to learn the tips and tricks of live sound, and learn how to brand myself and still be humble. I want to turn my “wants” or “wishes” into I WILL.”

She describes her future professional vision as “pursuing my dream of scoring a movie and dubbing audio into a music video or TV show.  I want to open my own recording studio one day, be a lyricist and also tour the world (and get paid to do it)!  I have many dreams and aspirations, and MI is the school I trust to set me up for success.”

Everyone at MI congratulates Danica on winning this prestigious award, and we welcome her as she begins her studies and enjoys the many great experiences ahead at MI!

Special thanks to our industry partner, Hosa Technology for generously sponsoring this scholarship, which helps to provide students like Danica with the support, tools and recognition they need to launch successful and creative careers in the music industry.

 

Hosa Technology

 

MI LOGO BOX

Leave a Reply

