FALL 2014 W. CRANE GUY VOCAL SCHOLARSHIP WINNER: Elizabeth (Lizzy) Gogolowski

Elizabeth (Lizzy) Gogolowski with Debra Byrd (Vocal Program Chair)

Elizabeth (Lizzy) Gogolowski with Debra Byrd (Vocal Program Chair)

The Vocal Program at Musicians Institute is pleased to announce Elizabeth (Lizzy) Gogolowski as the winner of the W. Crane Guy Memorial Vocal Scholarship for fall 2014.  In winning this prestigious award, the Anchorage, Alaska native (who comes to MI having sung “since the age of 3 with my first solo at age 4″) demonstrated overall outstanding musicianship, strong vocal skills and the potential for developing her own unique voice.  She describes her musical interest and expertise as being “best at pop, but I enjoy singing more pop-rock.”

Asked why she chose to study in the Vocal Program at MI,  Lizzy states “I knew I wanted to pursue my true passion and that’s why I applied to MI.  My vocal coach has always said good things about it, and I know a graduate that said the teachers are amazing and I would fit right in at this school.”

She also shared that while at MI, she will focus on “learning music theory, how to write and accompany myself, make connections and gain the knowledge of how to make it successfully in the music industry.”

She adds “my dream is to become a successful independent artist that makes top selling records. My goal is to do everything possible to challenge myself in making my dream possible. I want the opportunity to work in the industry and learn every aspect of what it takes.”

Everyone at MI congratulates Lizzy on winning this prestigious award that honors the memory and multiple talents of Musicians Institute alumnus W. Crane Guy (class of 2010); and supports the education of a talented vocal student.

Special heartfelt thanks to the family of W. Crane Guy for generously sponsoring this scholarship, which will help to provide students like Lizzy with the support, tools and recognition they need to launch successful and creative careers in the music industry.

W. Crane Guy

W. Crane Guy

CRANE IMAGE

MI LOGO BOX

Leave a Reply

