Chuck Silverman, Long Time Musicians Institute Faculty Member

Chuck

It is with deep sadness that Musicians Institute acknowledges the passing of long time Drum Program faculty member Chuck Silverman. Chuck passed away suddenly today from unknown causes. Information for memorial services and further details are pending at this time.

The entire MI family expresses its heartfelt condolences to the loved ones, friends, co-workers and students of Chuck and to the Silverman family.

 

 

MI LOGO BOX

28 comments

  1. What a a loss to all of us in the drumming community. He was a colleague and friend. He he made Latin drumming on the drum set accessible to everyone. I will miss him.

  2. NO!!! Loved Chuck! Back in ’88 teaching the “summer prep course”! He was Awesome and really represented what was the best at MI! Thanks for a great introduction to PIT Chuck!

    1. Hi Art, I was in that same class in ’88 which, shortly after, I stated studying with Chuck privately. He will sorely be missed.

      1. Hey…He was such an inspiration! His Latin stuff and love of the “groove”! I
        HAD ALL HIS BOOKS AND REMEMBER HIM WELL…HE WAS SO KIND TO US…I WILL MISS HIS ENERGY.

  3. RIP Chuck. It was always a pleasure playing with you and having nice long discussions on what you were up to with your various latin rhythm projects. We’ll all miss ya! Lauren could you find out what his family will be sharing with his friends, perhaps a memorial service or celebration of Chuck’s life. It would be an honor to attend and I have others asking me about that. Thanks

  4. Funeral for Chuck will be graveside this Sunday 5/4/14 at 12PM at Mt Sinai memorial park 6150 Mt Sinai Dr Simi Valley CA 93063.

  5. So sad, had the pleasure of taking a lesson with him in Tampa, FL in the early 90’s. He was a wealth of knowledge, an awesome teacher with an infectious enthusiasm for drumming. Thank you Chuck for your time and inspiration. You were a class act and be sorely missed.

  6. I could be the first or the last in line to thank Chuck.. but what matters is that thanks are given.

  7. I played many gigs with Chuck in the 70’s and 80’s. It is very sad to see his passing. I am happy that I had known him.

  8. EVERY BODY MUST KNOW THAT CHUCK HAS FAMILY IN CUBA, LALI´S PERCUSSIONIST FAMILY, IN CERRO, LA HABANA WE HAVE BEEN FRIENDS OF HIM FOR MORE THAN 20 YEARS, HE WAS COMING TO CUBA EVERY YEAR WITH STUDENTS SOMETIMES TWICE PER YEAR, WE CRIED A LOT YESTERDAY WHEN WE KNEW ABOUT THIS VERY SAD NOTICE, THE MUSIC LOSE A BIG TEACHER, A GREAT MAN, AND A FUTURE STRATEGIC MAN, WE THE RUMBEROS OF CERRO FEEL VERY BAD ABOUT THIS DIED, AND WE WILL BE KEEPING THE FLAME OF THE RUMBA AS A MEMORY TO HIM. WE WILL BE KEEP HIM IN OURS MINDS AND ALSO IN OURS HEARTS. WE LOVE YOU PALITO, AS ALL THE RUMBEROS CALL IN CUBA. WE WILL NEVER FORGET, IT IS NOT EASY FOR US, PLEASE WE HOPE THESE CONDOLENCES ARRIVE TO HIS FAMILY. LALI FROM CUBA

  9. I want to send my sincere condolences to Chuck’s family and friends and everyone he touched with his teachings. What a bummer to hear. I want to thank him for his dedication and for being generous enough to let me take a few lessons at his place years ago.

  10. Chuck was one of the sweetest drummers I have ever met in my entire life. Gonna miss him so much! Learned a lot from this guy! I Wanna thank him for everything he taught me and thank you dear chuck for the lovely friendship We build up the last 15 years.I will never forget you my dear friend. My thoughts go out to the family and his friends. Xxx sarah lavinia from Holland

  11. “Palito” was my brother from another mother. Ever since we first met in high school, Chuck started developing an interest in Cuban music. Being a bass player, we were able to relate to one another musically very tightly. Probably our greatest experience together was the time we spent with Paquito Hechevarria with the “Fly Outs”. “Palito”, my brother, I will always cherish our time together!

  12. Was very sorry to hear this bad news,Chuck’s books & videos helped me to understand how to learn about clave & pulse applied to the drum kit and see how to mix and match the many possible combinations,thanks Chuck for turning on the lights,best to all your friends and loved ones.

  13. Chuck, thank you so much for bringing me to the door of Cuban music. I will keep on going and let the flame goes on…

  14. Hello
    Coukd someone please confirm the Sunday services as we have to drive 4 hours to Simi Valley.

    It’s sad to see such an amazing teacher and friend pass away. We travelled throughout Cuba extensively with Palito and along the way met some of the greatest Rumberos of out time. Menini, Muñequitos, Jesus Papines, Lali, Yoruba Andabe, Clave Y Guaguanco and many many others who were all friends of Chuck. He was a truly special teacher and great human being. It’s a colossal loss for the drumming community.

  15. I met Chuck at UCLA while he was working toward his Ph.D. We ended up being group partners in one class and had so much fun adding silly skits to all of our class presentations. In the years since Chuck would come do guest lectures on Cuban music for my classes at Cal State Northridge. At the end of every semester I would ask my students who the best guest was and invariably they would say Chuck. He was so excited to share his knowledge that his brain and mouth couldn’t keep up with his energy and enthusiasm and sometimes in mid sentence he would just finish his sentences by playing a rhythm on the conga. He was an incredibly special person.

  16. Chuck I will always remember our trip to Cuba and my 10 yrs. teaching at MI while you were there. Your brother spoke eloquently at your funeral yesterday. Rest in eternal peace my friend. You are missed.

  17. A loving, caring man; a superbly talented musician; a people person. Chuck’s death leaves the world a little bit colder. I am so grateful I had a chance to experience Cuba with him two years ago. Chuck, you will not be forgotten.

  18. A loss to many for sure. I am fortunate to have drummed on the island of Cuba. I would not have got to experience this if it weren’t for Chuck. Thank you! Drum on!

  19. I recently found out that Chuck passed away. He was my very first drum teacher and so sad to hear of his passing. All you taught me lives on my friend. You will be missed

Leave a Reply

