W. Crane Guy Vocal Scholarship Winner: Ashleigh Teich

Ashleigh Teich (l.) and Andrea Calderwood (Vocal Program Chair)

Ashleigh Teich (l.) and Andrea Calderwood (Vocal Program Chair)

The Vocal Program at Musicians Institute is pleased to announce talented Acoustic Indie-Rock vocalist Ashleigh Teich as the winner of the W. Crane Guy Memorial Vocal Scholarship for spring 2013.  In winning this prestigious award Ashleigh, (who comes to MI from the Southern California area and is a native of Las Vegas) demonstrated overall outstanding musicianship, strong vocal skills and the potential for developing her own unique voice.

Asked why she chose to study in the Vocal Program at MI, Ashleigh states “I chose to go to MI because of all the great opportunities available here. From auditions to industry connections, I couldn’t think of a better place to start my career I’ve always dreamed of.”  She adds “I’m really excited to start my journey at MI! Being a “raw” artist, with little vocal training, I’m looking forward to learning about vocal technique and music theory.  Learning to read music and play keyboards will definitely take my songwriting to the next level.”

She also shared that “My real goal is to have success using the talent I’ve been given, whether that means being in a professional band, a studio session vocalist, singing background vocals for another artist, or song writing for a specific label. If I can apply the skills, knowledge, and talent I have and make a great career out of it…I’ve made it.”

Everyone at MI congratulates Ashleigh on winning this prestigious award that honors the memory and multiple talents of Musicians Institute alumnus W. Crane Guy (class of 2010); and supports the education of a talented vocal student.

Special heartfelt thanks to the family of W. Crane Guy for generously sponsoring this scholarship, which will help to provide students like Ashleigh with the support, tools and recognition they need to launch successful and creative careers in the music industry. 

W. Crane Guy

W. Crane Guy

CRANE IMAGE

(See MI’s website for details on how to apply for this and other scholarships.)
Leave a Reply

