Seymour Duncan Guitar Scholarship Winner: Marius (Max) Fricke

Guitar Program Chair Stig Mathisen (lt) with Marius Fricke (rt)

The winner of the fall 2012 Seymour Duncan Guitar Scholarship at Musicians Institute is talented, 19 year old guitarist Marius (Max) Fricke.  The multi-stylist Max hails from a small village near Frankfurt, Germany, and has been playing guitar since the age of 6.

Max explains that he chose to study in MI’s Guitar Program because “This is my passion, this is my life, this is what I wanna do, and this is what I’m gonna do!”

Max’s longtime goals include: “becoming a professional musician, and to be on a world tour as a sideman/hired gun.  I want to perform on stage with great musicians and entertain people while traveling the world performing in the largest venues.”

He also sees LA and the Hollywood area as the perfect place to achieve his dream, as a “great music scene and a great source of creativity.” He states “I’m a really open-minded person and I will appreciatively use any possibility that is offered to me to stay in Los Angeles and to begin a career in the industry . I’m ready to learn and to listen. My clear philosophy is that as long as I believe in my goals I am able to achieve everything.” 

Everyone at MI congratulates Max on this achievement, which marks a great beginning to his studies. We look forward to seeing him reach his full potential while at MI.

Marius meets Seymour Duncan at NAMM

Special thanks to our very special industry partner, Seymour Duncan for generously sponsoring this scholarship, which helps to provide talented students like Max with the support, tools and recognition they need to launch successful and creative careers in the music industry. The scholarship was created thru the generous support of Seymour Duncan Pickups and Pedals to honor innovative guitar legend Seymour Duncan.

To learn more about the full line of Seymour Duncan Products click here

(See MI’s website for details on how to apply for this and other scholarships.)
Leave a Reply

